A photograph of Luc Tuymans by Weston Wells, dated 2020.

Luc Tuymans and Hans Ulrich Obrist

Artist Talks & Events

To be updated on upcoming exhibitions and other news, sign up to our newsletter and follow us @davidzwirner.

On the occasion of Luc Tuymans’s upcoming solo exhibition in Hong Kong, the artist will be in conversation with the curator Hans Ulrich Obrist about his recent work. The discussion will be moderated by Angela Choon, Senior Partner at David Zwirner.

Please RSVP here and join us on Saturday, October 24, 2020 at 8 AM EST | 1 PM BST | 2 PM CEST | 8 PM HKT for the live Zoom conversation.

Luc Tuymans: Good Luck opens at David Zwirner Hong Kong on October 27. 

Book your appointment in advance here

 

Speakers

Luc Tuymans (b. 1958, Belgium) is considered as one of the most influential contemporary painters and is widely credited with having contributed to the revival of painting in the 1990s. Titled Good Luck, the artist’s first solo exhibition in Greater China brings together a selection of recent paintings and an animated video that are drawn from a range of historical and contemporary images, with some referencing Chinese cultural legacy and cityscape. 

Hans Ulrich Obrist (b. 1968, Zurich, Switzerland) is Artistic Director of the Serpentine Galleries in London. Prior to this, he was the Curator of the Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris. Since his first show “World Soup” (The Kitchen Show) in 1991, he has curated more than 300 shows. Obrist’s recent publications include Ways of Curating (2015), The Age of Earthquakes (2015), Lives of the Artists, Lives of Architects (2015), Mondialité (2017), Somewhere Totally Else (2018) and The Athens Dialogues (2018). 

 

Image: Luc Tuymans, 2020 (detail). Photo by Weston Wells

    Read More Read Less

      Inquire

      To learn more about this artwork, please provide your contact information.

      By sharing your details you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.

      Inquire

      To learn more about available works, please provide your contact information

      By sharing your details you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.