A painting by Luc Tuymans, titled Still, dated 2019.

Luc Tuymans

Good Luck

David Zwirner is pleased to present an exhibition of new work by the renowned Belgian artist Luc Tuymans (b. 1958) at the gallery’s Hong Kong location—his first solo presentation in Greater China.

On view will be a selection of recent paintings and a new single-channel animated video that are drawn from a range of historical and contemporary images. Together the works share an undercurrent, as suggested by the exhibition’s title, of paradox and uncertainty.

 

Tuymans has become known for a distinctive style of painting that demonstrates the power of images to simultaneously communicate and withhold. Emerging in the 1980s, Tuymans pioneered a decidedly non-narrative approach to figurative painting, instead exploring how information can be layered and embedded within certain scenes and signifiers. 

 

卓納畫廊於香港空間欣然呈現比利時知名藝術家呂克·圖伊曼斯的新作展——這將是藝術家在大中華地區的首次個展。展覽將呈現精選的近期繪畫作品以及一件單頻動畫影像作品,它們均由一系列歷史及當代的圖像延展而出。正如展覽標題所示,這些作品充滿著一股矛盾與不確定性並存的暗流。

 

Read more 閱讀更多

 

On the occasion of this exhibition, the artist will be in conversation with the curator Hans Ulrich Obrist about his recent work. 

Please RSVP here and join us on Saturday, October 24, 2020 at 8 AM ET | 2 PM CEST | 1 PM BST | 8 PM HKT for the live Zoom event.

 

藉由本次展覽,藝術家將與策展人漢斯·烏爾里希·歐布利斯特(Hans Ulrich Obrist)舉辦一場Zoom對談。

點擊鏈接預約講座席位。講座將於10月24日(星期六)的香港時間晚上8時舉辦。

The gallery is open to the public with a limited number of visitors allowed into the exhibition spaces at a time, in accordance with city guidelines.


卓納畫廊全球各個空間的秋季展覽即將陸續開幕,我們將依據當地政府的相關條例,執行相應的衛生防護措施,並適當限制展廳內的觀展人數。

To schedule your visit, please click here.

請點擊鏈接,預約到訪參觀。

To learn more about the enhanced safety measures currently in place at this location and others, please click here.

如欲詳細了解各地相關防護措施,請點擊此處


Image: Luc Tuymans, Still, 2019

    Read More Read Less

      Inquire

      To learn more about this artwork, please provide your contact information.

      By sharing your details you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.

      Inquire

      To learn more about available works, please provide your contact information

      By sharing your details you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.

      • Luc Tuymans Good Luck